Newspaper Archive of
Clinch Valley Times
St. Paul , Virginia
May 17, 2017     Clinch Valley Times
PAGE 9     (9 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 9     (9 of 12 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
May 17, 2017

Newspaper Archive of Clinch Valley Times produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

e ~[~ ~l~nc[~ ~oun~y ~T~.s. Wednesday, May 17, 2017 Page 9 Clinch County High School honored its best and brightest on Thursday, May 11 at the 2016-2017 Aca- demic Honors Banquet. The math department re- cipients were: Eighth Grade Math-Jen- na Lee Bruce, Harper Fort- ner. Coordinate Algebra- (Yearlong) Tye Henderson, Logan Thompson. (Semester) Lindsey Strickland. Analytical Geometry- (Yearlong) Reagan Gaskins. (Semester) Caleb Regis- ter. Advanced Algebra-Kait- lin Oliver. Pre-Calculus-Mahj abin Patrawala. MOWR-College Algebra- Lily James, Anna O'Guin, Mahjabin Patrawala. The science department recipients were: Eighth Grade Science- Tiara Holmes. Physical Science-Candace Lane. Biology-Joshua Jones. Biology II-Laken Nelson. Environmental Science- Gaven Roberts. Chemistry-Caleb Regis- ter. MOWR Environment Sci- ence-Kaitlin Oliver. The social studies depart- ment recipients were: Eighth Grade Georgia Studies-Jenna Lee Bruce, Harper Fortner. Civics-Shanautica Wes- ley, Dancey Hinson. US History-Elizabeth Bennett, Kaitlin Oliver. World History-Caleb Reg- ister. Economics-Garland Lutz. MOWR Psychology-Kait- lin Oliver. The language arts depart- ment recipients were: Eighth Grade Language Arts-Jenna Lee Bruce, Harper Fortner. 9th, Grade Literature- Dancey Hinson. World Literature-Duncan Lutz, Caleb Register, Anna Leigh Jones. American Literature- Madyson Knight, Kaitlin Oliver. British Literature-Gar- land Lutz, Evan Steedley, Bryce Ballance. Spanish I-Jessica Cerda. Spanish II-Jessica Cerda and Dancey Hinson. MOWR Advanced Compo- sition-Mahjabin Patrawala. Other Recognitions: UGA Certificate of Merit- Elizabeth Bennett, Ranisha Johnson, Joshua Jones, Madyson Knight, Kaitlin Oliver. Daughters of American Revolution Good Citizen- Parker Brown. A.I. Robbins-Bryce Bal- lance and Mahjabin Pa- trawala. STAR Student-Evan Steedley. Gold Star Beta Award- Parker Brown, Tricity Browning, Mary Mikelyn Bruorton, Desirae Delk, Emmaline Ellis, Lily James, Hannah Kelley, Hailee Mor- gan, Ashley Pafford. SAT Clubs-ParkerBrownl Tricity Browning, Mary Mikelyn Bruorton, Emmali- ne Ellis, Gunter Hoopiiaina, Lily James, Drew Jeffords, Hannah Kelley, Candace Lane, Laken Nelson, Anna O'Guin, Rachel Pittman, Desirae Delk, Ashley Paf- ford, Caitlin Sirmans, Cor- ben Stovall, Joshua Jones, Kaitie Lee, Mahjabin Pa- trawala, Garland Lutz, Hai- lee Morgan, Evan Steedley. Woodsmen of the World- Mahjabin Patrawala. Superintendent's Award- Monica Ganas and Shan Franklin. Scholarships: Coastal Pines Technical College Foundation-William Thrift, Brennen Register, Jaycoben Coleman, Megan Palmer. James Eunice Legacy- Tate Kight, Corben Stovall, Tison Bell. Colton Shaw Scholarship- Tate Kight. Nashville Berrien Rotary Club-Lily James. UGA Presidential Lead- ership-Corben Stovall. Lee Container Scholar- ship-Bryce Balance, Chris- tian Strickland. James M. Dye Founda- tion Scholarship-Kaitie Lee. Elizabeth Waters Gruver Memorial Scholarship-Han- nah Kelley. Dr. Lewis F. & Audrey H. Chisholm Healthcare Schol- arship-Parker Brown. Dupont Woodyard and Homerville Jewelers Schol- arship-MoMe Anna Den- mark, Cameron Phillips, NorveMa Lacey, Hailee Morgan, Tison Bell. Clinch Foundation Schol- arship-Tison Bell, Shan Franklin, Mollie Anna Den- mark, Bryce Ballance, Hai- lee Morgan, Tate Kight, Lily James, Parker Brown, Gar- land Lutz. CAE Bessie Patterson Scholarship-Hailee Morgan American Red Cross Scholarship-India Thorn- ton. Herff Jones Clinch En- dorsed Honors Scholarship- Tison Bell. Clinch Endorsed Honors- Tison Bell, Parker Brown, Tricity Browning, Mary Mikelyn Bruorton, Desirae Delk, Mollie Anna Denmark, Emmaline Ellis, Erica Neely Harris, Lily James, Hannah Kelley,Kaitie Lee, Garland Lutz, Damaria McNeil, Shy- anne Melton, Anna O'Guin, Ashley Pafford, Mahjabin Patrawala, Rachel Pittman, Reilly Robbins, Caitlin Sir- mans, Evan Steedley, Cor- ben Stovall, and Christian Strickland. The 2017 Valedictorian, Salutatorian, and Honor Graduates were also an- nounced at the end of the program. Valedictorian - Mahjabin Patrawala. Salutatorian , - Evan Steedley. Honor Graduates - Gar- land Lutz, Corben Stovall, Katie Lee, Ann O'Guinn, Lily James, Parker Brown, Emmaline Ellis, Mary Mike- lyn Bruorton, Hannah Kel- ley, Hailee Morgan, Desirae Delk, Candace Lane, Mol- lieAnna Denmark, Caitlin Sirmans, Tricity Browning, Laken Nelson, Ashley Paf- ford, Rachel Pittman, Reilly Robbins, Erica Neely Har- ris. Senior Beta Members- Parker Brown, Tricity Browning,Mary Mikelyn Bruorton,Desirae Delk, MolliAnnaDenmark, Era- maline Ellis, Erica Neely Harris, Lily James, Han- nah Kelley, Candace Lane, Kaitie Lee, Garland Lutz, Hailee Morgan, Laken Nel- son, Anna O'Guinn, Ashley Pafford, Mahjabin Patrawa- la, Rachel Pittman, Reilly Robbins, Caitlin Sirmans, Evan Steedley, Corben Stovall, Shannon Young. Clinch County High School would like to espe- cially thank the local busi- nesses and organizations that donated over $15,000 in scholarships to Clinch County students. Science award winners included, front, from left, Candace Lane, Social Studies award winners included, front, from left, Elizabeth Laken Nelson, Tiara Holmes, Joshua Jones. Back, Gaven Roberts, Bennett, Garland Lub. Back, from left, KaiUin Oliver, Caleb Caleb Register. Register, Dancey Hinson. Language Arts award winners included, front, from left, Anna Coastal Pines Technical College Foundation scholarships were Leigh Jones, Bryce Ballance, Garland Lutz, Kaitlin Oliver, Evan awarded to, front, from left, Megan Palmer, Brennen Register. Steedley. Back, from left, Caleb Register, Duncan Lutz, Dancey Back, William Thrift, Jacoyben Coleman. Hinson. Math award winners included, from left, Logan Thompson, Lindsey Sbrickland, Tye Henderson, Lily James, Anna O'Guin, Malljabin Pal awala, Kaitlin Oliver, Caleb Register, Reagan Gaskins. Clinch Endorsed Honors students included, front, from left, Katie Lee, Evan Steedley, Shyanne Melton, Gaitlyn Sirmans, Mehjabin Pabawala, Lily James, Garland Lutz. Back, from left, Rachel Pittman, Hannah Kelley, Erica Neely Harris, Parker Brown, Reilly Robbins, Tricity Browning, Mary Mikelyn Bruorton, Mollie Anna Denmark, Corben Stovall, Anna O'Guin, Christian Strickland, Desirne Delk, Tison Ball, Emmaline Ellis. Scholarship recipients included, front, from left, Parker Brown, Corben Stovall, Lily James, Mollie Anna Denmark. Back, from left, Christian SWickland, Tate Kight, Tison Bell, Bryce Ballance, Brennen Register, Hailee Morgan, India Thornton, Shan Franklin, Megan Palmer, Hannah Kelley, Garland Lutz, Katie Lee. Class of 2017 honor graduates include, front, from left, Mary Mikelyn Bruorton, Emmaline Ellis, Parker Brown, Lily James, Anna O'Guin, Katie Lee, Corben Stovall, Garland Lab, Evan Sleedley, Mahjabin Pabawala. Back, from left, Hannah Kelley, Hailee Morgan, Desirae Delk, Candace Lane, Mollie Anna Denmark, Caitlin Sirmans Tricity Browning, Laken Nelson, Ashley Pafford, Rachel Pittman, Reilly Robbins, Erica Neely Harris.